Weekend Poetry: I Want

I want to change the world but I don’t know where to start

I want to have a church of love and hope

I want a nation of justice and peace

I want to feed the hungry

I want to speak for the oppressed

I want to bring friends together

I want to write and paint and act and play

I want to create space for the creative

I want to adopt the outcasts

I want to comfort the hurting

I want to tear down walls

I want to befriend the victim and be feared by the abuser

I want to celebrate beauty

I want to shine light into darkness

I want to share great stories

I want to inspire great thoughts

I want to empower others

I want to find God’s fingerprints on every life

I want to preach hope and love

I want to change the world but I don’t know where to start and I’m starting right here